Office of the Provost

식별 영역

존재의 형태(조직/기관, 개인, 가족)

Corporate body

승인된 이름 형식

Office of the Provost

이름 병기 형식

다른 규칙에 따른 표목의 표준형태

다른 이름 형식

  • Office of the Vice President, Academic

조직/기관 식별자

기술 영역

존재 시기


조직사, 개인/가족이력

Office of Provost was originally established as Dean who served as Registrar. In 1971, the position title became "Dean of the College." Then, in 1978, the position was revised to "Dean of Academic Affairs," and soon after that - in 1979 - the position became that of a Vice President.

The Vice President, Academic, position was the senior academic leader of the University, appointed by the Board of Governors of the University, upon the recommendation of the President. The Vice President was responsible to the President for all academic affairs of the University, including representing the academic interests of the University on the President's Cabinet and Administrative Council and, when called upon by the President, to the Board of Governors; preparing and presenting proposals and reports to the President, President's Cabinet, and the Board of Governors; monitoring the quality of academic programs; chairing the Undergraduate Academic Council, the Deans' Council, the Academic Policy Development Committee, and faculty business meetings, and representing the University at the AUCC Vice President's committee and the CCCU's Chief Academic Officer's meetings. Over time, the Vice President became responsible for the recruitment, supervision, and professional development of educational leaders and faculty.

In January of 2007, the position of Provost was established to be responsible to the president and the governing board, and oversee all educational affairs and activities, including research, academic and athletic personnel. The Provost positions grew to serve as a member of both the University Finance Board and President’s Senior Leadership Team and is the chief educational program officer for the University. Increased responsibilities included oversight of strategies, planning, development, implementation and assessment of all educational policies and programs, including review of faculty appointments, tenure & promotion, student life personnel, academic research, and financial matters relating to Faculties, Schools, Student Life departments, Athletics, and regional campuses. The Provost is Chair of the Dean’s Council.

In 2008, as directive of the Provost, TWU Senate was established to develop and monitor policies, procedures, and quality standards pertaining to the academic enterprise with an overall aim of promoting educational vitality. The Senate reports to the Provost from whom the Senate receives its mandate, delegated accountability and responsibility.

In 2016, the position of Vice Provost Teaching and Learning was created to assist in the implementation of the new undergraduate core requirement.


조직/기관의 법적 지위

기능, 직업, 활동

권한/권한의 근거

내부 조직/가계

Vice Presidents included:

  • Enoch E. Mattson (1962-1970)
  • Leland Asa (1970-1975)
  • Deane Downey (Acting Dean of Faculty, 1975-1977)
  • David Twiest (Chairman of Faculty, 1977-1978)
  • Craig Seaton (1978-1980), Ken Davis (1981-1990)
  • Don Page (1990-2000)
  • Dennis Jameson (2000-2006)

TWU Provosts included:

  • Dennis Jameson (2007-2011)
  • Bob Wood, Interim Provost (2011-April 2012) and Provost (April 2012-July 2022)
  • Todd Martin, Interim Provost (August 2022-present)

Vice Provost Teaching and Learning:

  • Catherine Penfold Navarro, 2016-2017
  • Kimberley Franklin, 2017-2018
  • Laurie Matthias, 2019-

일반 맥락

관계 영역

관련 단체

University Senate (2008-)

Identifier of related entity

관계 범주


관계의 종류

University Senate

is owned by

Office of the Provost

관계 일자

관계 기술

Access points area

주제 접근점

장소 접근점


제어 영역

Authority record identifier

전거레코드 책임기관 식별자

규칙 및 협약

전거레코드 현지위

전거레코드 상세정도

생산 수정 삭제 일자

Created December 5, 2013; updated July 2022, tk




유지 주기

  • Clipboard

  • 내보내기

  • EAC

관련 주제

관련 장소